Student award winners from 2011 commencement

May 20, 2011



Dean DeNisi with some of the award recipients from this year's graduation ceremony. From left to right, Ruth Yomtoubian (MBA/MGM '11), Ian Jones (MBA '11), Claudio Galimberti (MFIN Houston'11), DeNisi, Chia Lee Neoh (MFIN New Orleans '11), Ian Lindsay (MFIN Houston '11), Christopher Williams (MBA '11), Aminn Gabriel Thompson (MFIN New Orleans '11) and Jennifer Urrego (MBA '11).

The following student awards were announced at the Freeman School's 2011 undergraduate and graduate-level diploma ceremonies.

BSM Scholastic Achievement Award

Established in 1997, the BSM Scholastic Achievement Award recognizes excellence in academics and is presented to the graduate of the BSM program with the highest cumulative grade-point average.

• Jonathan Raizon

Marta and Peter Bordeaux Scholastic Achievement Award

Established in 1987 by Marta and Peter Bordeaux to recognize excellence in academics, this award is presented to the graduate of the Master of Business Administration program with the highest cumulative grade point average.

Hakima Taoufiq

Roger L. Cornelius Award

Established in 1967 by the Tulane School of Business in honor of Roger L. Cornelius, a 1961 West Point graduate and a 1965 MBA who died shortly after graduation, this award commemorates Mr. Cornelius' dedication to the highest standards of business scholarship and leadership. This award is based on a vote by the MBA students, and it is presented to the graduating student in the Master of Business Administration program who best exemplifies these qualities.

• Patricio Esteban Campuzano Arteta

Evelyn and William Burkenroad Award

This award is presented each year to an outstanding member of the graduating class in honor of Evelyn and William Burkenroad. The recipient is chosen by the senior class on the basis of scholarship, integrity, amiability, and contributions to the professional, social, and academic quality of the business program.

• Daniel Harris Crowley

Wall Street Journal Award

Developed by The Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award Program in 1948, this award honors a student from the BSM program whose academic performance in the area of finance is considered exceptional.

Chen Sun

Dean's Service Award

Established in 1991, this award recognizes those graduating students who, in the opinion of the administrative staff and dean, have added dimension to the school

through outstanding contributions of time and effort.

- Patricio Esteban Campuzano Arteta
- Ian Simeon Jones
- Ian Andrew Lindsay
- Aminn Gabriel Adedayo Thompson
- Jennifer Williams Urrego
- Christopher James Williams
- Ruth Elya Yomtoubian

Tulane Association of Business Alumni Award

Established to recognize outstanding graduates of the Bachelor of Science in Management, the Master of Business Administration and the Master of Finance programs, this award is presented to students who rank in the top 10 percent of their classes and, in the opinion of the dean, the associate dean, department heads, and the officers of the Tulane Association of Business Alumni, have displayed exceptional intellectual ability, leadership, self-motivation and a sense of responsibility to peers, the school and the community.

- Steven Houg (BSM)
- Claudio Galimberti (MFIN)
- Chia Lee Neoh (MFIN)
- Jennifer Williams Urrego (MBA)

TABA Community Service Award

Established in 1993 by the Levy-Rosenblum Institute for Entrepreneurship and conducted in partnership with the Tulane Association of Business Alumni, this award recognizes those graduates who, under the auspices of the institute and mentored by TABA members, have completed at least 25 hours of pro bono service with a disadvantaged business or a not-for-profit organization in the New Orleans area.

Bachelor of Science in Management:

- Caitlin Banford
- Nicole Hershey
- Steven Houg
- Joy Moglia

- Jonathan Raizon
- William Stoudt
- Chen Sun
- Kimberly Wald

Master of Accounting:

- Elizabeth Marie McCoy
- Patrick Edgar Townsend

Master of Business Administration:

- Jamin Patrick Butler
- Patricio Esteban Campuzano Arteta
- Arnab Dasgupta
- Stephen Anthony Feazell
- Sarah Elizabeth Gaddis
- Rachael Beth Kansas
- Tainy Lossine Kone
- Catherine St. John LaCorte
- Noah-Jason Farmer Lewis
- John Nicholas Moustoukas
- John Thomas Rassier Jr.
- Francisco Jose Robert Asenjo
- Jennifer Williams Urrego
- Christopher James Williams
- Ruth Elya Yomtoubian
- Sofia Carolina Zárate Morales

Master of Finance:

- William Hunter Johnson
- Aminn Gabriel Adedayo Thompson

Tulane 34 Award

Nominated by the administrators of the undergraduate and professional schools and given annually, the Tulane 34 award recognizes outstanding Tulane students for

their academic achievements, student leadership and community service, underscoring the significance and breadth of citizenship and public service woven into academic life at Tulane.

- Ian Michael Furman
- Amanda Lee Diamond

Interested in advancing your education and/or career? Learn more about Freeman's wide range of graduate and undergraduate programs. Find the right program for you.