Faculty awards from 2010 Commencement Ceremony

The following faculty awards were presented at the Freeman School’s 2010 Graduate Diploma Ceremony.

Irving H. Lavalle Research Award

Established in 1996, this award recognizes professors for excellence and advancement of the highest standards in research and for contributions to the faculty members' academic fields of interest.

  • Michael Burke

James T. Murphy Teaching Excellence Award

Established in 1994, this award recognizes professors in the Bachelor of Science in Management and the Master of Business Administration Programs for excellence and advancement of the highest standards in teaching. Selection is based on student vote, course evaluations, and review by a committee of students and administrators.

  • Christopher McCusker

Outstanding Young Researcher Award

This award was established to recognize outstanding research by junior faculty members.

  • Zhi Li

Erich Sternberg Award

Established in 1987 by the Erich Sternberg family, this award is given to a member of the Freeman School faculty in recognition of current contributions to that faculty member's academic field of interest.

  • Gregory Oldham

The Howard W. Wissner Award

Presented each year to outstanding faculty members to recognize excellence in teaching, this award was established in honor of Howard W. Wissner, an exceptional professor who won the admiration and respect of all those with whom he came into contact with.

  • Michael H. Hogg, Undergraduate Courses
  • Deen Kemsley, Graduate Courses

Houston Master of Finance Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Salvatore Cantale

Teacher Honor Roll: Undergraduate Courses

Required Courses

  • Michael H. Hogg (Fall 2009, Sprint 2010)

Elective Courses

  • Venkat Subramaniam (Fall 2009)
  • Christine Smith (Spring 2010)

Teacher Honor Roll: Graduate Courses

600-Level Courses

  • Laura Cardinal (Fall 2009)
  • Beau Parent (Sprint 2010)

700 Level Courses

  • Deen Kemsley (Fall 2009)
  • Sheri Tice (Spring 2010)
Back to top of page