2012 Faculty Award Winners

Dean Ira Solomon presented the following faculty awards at the Freeman School’s 2012 graduate diploma ceremony.

Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award

Established in 2012, this award recognizes professors in undergraduate and graduate business programs for excellence and advancement of the highest standards for teaching.

  • Eric Hamerman (Undergraduate Courses)
  • Russell P. Robins (Graduate Courses)

Irving H. Lavalle Research Award

Established in 1996, this award recognizes professors for excellence and advancement of the highest standards in research and for contributions to the faculty members’ academic fields of interest.

  • Carmen Weigelt

James T. Murphy Teaching Excellence Award

Established in 1994 in recognition of Professor Murphy’s more than 30 years of service to Tulane’s business school, this award recognizes professors who exhibit the highest standards of instructional improvement and development and who help students beyond the formal role of teacher.

  • Michael T. Yest

Outstanding Young Researcher Award

This award was established to recognize outstanding research by junior faculty members.

  • Jaideep Shenoy

Erich Sternberg Award

Established in 1987 by the Erich Sternberg family, this award is given to a member of the Freeman School faculty in recognition of current contributions to that faculty member’s academic field of interest.

  • Geoffrey G. Parker

The Howard W. Wissner Award

Presented each year to outstanding faculty members to recognize excellence in teaching, this award was established in honor of Howard W. Wissner, an exceptional professor who won the admiration and respect of all those with whom he came into contact with.

  • Ekundayo Shittu, Undergraduate Courses
  • William A. Reese Jr., Graduate Courses

Related News

Back to top of page