2014 Student Award Winners

The following student awards were announced in conjunction with the Freeman School’s undergraduate and graduate-level diploma ceremonies, which took place on Saturday, May 17, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome following the unified commencement ceremony.

BSM Scholastic Achievement Award

Established in 1997, the BSM Scholastic Achievement Award recognizes excellence in academics and is presented to the graduate of the BSM program with the highest cumulative grade-point average. This year, three students tied for the award.

  • Hannah Hausman
  • Courtney M. Kulchin
  • Rachel M. Spirer

Marta and Peter Bordeaux Scholastic Achievement Award

Established in 1987 by Marta and Peter Bordeaux to recognize excellence in academics, this award is presented to the graduate of the Master of Business Administration program with the highest cumulative grade point average.

  • David Scott Bode

Roger L. Cornelius Award

Established in 1967 by the Tulane Graduate School of Business in honor of Roger L. Cornelius, a 1961 West Point graduate and a 1965 Master of Business Administration alumnus who died shortly after graduation, this award commemorates Mr. Cornelius’ dedication to the highest standards of business scholarship and leadership. The award is based on a vote by MBA students, and it is presented to the graduating student in the MBA program who best exemplifies these qualities.

  • Erynn Melissa Bell

Evelyn and William Burkenroad Award

Established in 1982, the Evelyn and William Burkenroad Award recognizes the one graduating student in the Bachelor of Science in Management program who has an outstanding record of scholarship and personal integrity and whose activities have contributed to the professional, social and/or academic quality of the business program. The recipient is chosen by the senior class. This year, two students tied for the Burkenroad Award.

  • Evan James Golden
  • Stephan J. Lee

Dean’s Service Award

Established in 1991, this award recognizes those graduating students who, in the opinion of the administrative staff and the dean, have added dimension to the school through outstanding contributions of time and effort.

  • Benjamin Briggs Barrios (BSM)
  • Emilia Bates Anderson (MBA)
  • Erynn Melissa Bell (MBA)
  • James Edwin Dunn III (MBA)
  • Tyler Andrew Hardin (MBA)
  • George Denegre Hopkins III (MBA)
  • Wanyue Jiang (MFIN)
  • Kathryn Leithead Mick (MBA)
  • Sturgis Martin Sobin II (MME)

Tulane Association of Business Alumni Award

Established to recognize outstanding graduates of the school's degree programs, this award is presented to students who rank in the top 10 percent of their classes and, in the opinion of the dean, the administrative staff and the officers of the Tulane Association of Business Alumni, have displayed exceptional intellectual ability, leadership, self-motivation and a sense of responsibility to peers, the school and the community.

  • Annie Morgan Bindler (BSM)
  • Megan Elizabeth Baumgartner (MACCT)
  • Leigh Ann Rodriguez Benesch (Houston Executive MBA)
  • Timothy Kyle Johnston (Houston Professional MBA)
  • Joseph Anthony Laine (New Orleans Professional MBA)
  • Ezequiel Massaglia (New Orleans Executive MBA)
  • Kathryn Leithead Mick (MBA)
  • Lynda Ruth Clemmons (Houston MFIN)
  • Paul Michael Gibson (Houston MFIN)
  • Mudassir Nazir (MFIN)
  • Bryce Armonde Robertson (MME)

TABA Community Service Award

Established in 1993 by the Levy-Rosenblum Institute for Entrepreneurship and conducted in partnership with the Tulane Association of Business Alumni, this award recognizes those graduates who, under the auspices of the institute and mentored by TABA members, have completed at least 25 hours of pro bono service with a disadvantaged business or a not-for-profit organization in the New Orleans area.

Bachelor of Science in Management:

  • Elizabeth Cherrick
  • Max Cron
  • Laura Fromm
  • Xuran Nie
  • Laura Stokes
  • Benjamin Warshaw
  • Becky Wong

Master of Accounting:

  • Lijun Chen
  • Crystal Marie Tice

Master of Business Administration:

  • Selma Abdelmoniem Alamin
  • James O'Keith Allen
  • Ahmed Ossama Abdelwahed Almassry
  • Thomas James Altman
  • Emilia Bates Anderson
  • Erynn Melissa Bell
  • Garrett Charles Bludau
  • David Scott Bode
  • Kevin Alonzo Bratcher
  • Olga Lucia Bustamante
  • Christopher James Cobb
  • Frank Williamson Darden
  • Jordan Gregory Dorenfeld
  • Paul Wolfram Fischer
  • Vanessa Michel Gerard
  • Varun Kumar Gurusamy Dorairaj
  • Cortney Cole Hall
  • Parker Earl Koerner
  • Adrian Mendez
  • Vinay Mohan
  • Samra Nawaz
  • Lydia Ruth Adamma Onimo
  • Katherine Victoria Sharp
  • Sarah Catherine Turner

Master of Global Management

  • Andrew Clay Mouton

Tulane 34

The Tulane 34 Award is presented to 34 graduates who have distinguished themselves throught their collegiate life. Students are recognized for their exemplary leadership, service and academic excellence. Named for the year the university was founded, 1834, Tulane 34 is among the most coveted university-wide honors bestowed upon students. In recognition of Scott Cowen’s service to and leadership of Tulane University, 35 students were honored in 2014. Of the 35 students honored, seven were graduates of the A. B. Freeman School of Business.

  • Briggs Barrios (BSM)
  • Amber Bennett (BSM)
  • Adam Griego (BSM)
  • Zachary Hoyt (BSM)
  • Klara Vyskocilova (BSM)
  • Erynn Melissa Bell (MBA)
  • Henry Thomas Milburn III (MFIN)

Allen R. Vorholt Memorial Award

Established in 1988 by the Executive Master of Business Administration graduating class and the Freeman School faculty and administration to honor Allen R. Vorholt, this award recognizes Mr. Vorholt’s outstanding executive qualities as exemplified in his leadership, his scholarship, his ability to balance priorities and his strong sense of civic obligation. Selection is based on student vote and the award is presented to a classmate who epitomizes these qualities.

  • Tracy Lee Conrad
  • Jennifer Eiland Greer
Back to top of page