Student awards from 2010 Commencement Ceremony

May 19, 2010

The following student awards were presented at the Freeman School's 2010 undergraduate and graduate-level diploma ceremonies.

BSM Scholastic Achievement Award

Established in 1997, the BSM Scholastic Achievement Award recognizes excellence in academics and is presented to the graduate of the BSM program with the highest cumulative grade-point average.

  • David Arango

Marta and Peter Bordeaux Scholastic Achievement Award

Established in 1987 by Marta and Peter Bordeaux to recognize excellence in academics, this award is presented to the graduate of the Master of Business Administration program with the highest cumulative grade point average.

  • Karthik Mahadevan

Roger L. Cornelius Award

Established in 1967 by the Tulane School of Business in honor of Roger L. Cornelius, a 1961 West Point graduate and a 1965 MBA who died shortly after graduation, this award commemorates Mr. Cornelius' dedication to the highest standards of business scholarship and leadership. This award is based on a vote by the MBA students, and it is presented to the graduating student in the Master of Business Administration program who best exemplifies these qualities.

  • Amy Marie Brumfield
  • James Matthew Dearmon

Evelyn and William Burkenroad Award

This award is presented each year to an outstanding member of the graduating class in honor of Evelyn and William Burkenroad. The recipient is chosen by the senior class on the basis of scholarship, integrity, amiability, and contributions to the professional, social, and academic quality of the business program.

  • Alison Palmer Heine

Wall Street Journal Award

Developed by The Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award Program in 1948, this award honors a student from the BSM program whose academic performance in the area of finance is considered exceptional.

  • David Arango

Dean's Service Award

Established in 1991, this award recognizes those graduating students who, in the opinion of the administrative staff and dean, have added dimension to the school through outstanding contributions of time and effort.

  • Christine Noel Beiriger
  • James Matthew Dearmon
  • Wesley Adam Gautreaux
  • Amina Tabia Harvey
  • Jenell Teron Katheiser
  • Kendall Keshon Plain
  • Adam Paul Salup

Tulane Association of Business Alumni Award

Established to recognize outstanding graduates of the Bachelor of Science in Management, the Master of Business Administration and the Master of Finance programs, this award is presented to students who rank in the top 10 percent of their classes and, in the opinion of the dean, the associate dean, department heads, and the officers of the Tulane Association of Business Alumni, have displayed exceptional intellectual ability, leadership, self-motivation, and a sense of responsibility to peers, the school and the community.

  • Jonathan Shardyer Farrokhnia, Bachelor of Science in Management
  • Jeffrey Phillips Good, Master of Business Administration
  • Jim Yong Park, Master of Finance

TABA Community Service Award

Established in 1993 by the Levy-Rosenblum Institute for Entrepreneurship and conducted in partnership with the Tulane Association of Business Alumni, this award recognizes those graduates who, under the auspices of the institute and mentored by TABA members, have completed at least 25 hours of pro bono service with a disadvantaged business or a not-for-profit organization in the New Orleans area.

Master of Accounting:

  • Kendall Keshon Plain

Master of Business Administration:

  • Amy Marie Brumfield
  • Xavier Cabo
  • Royce Britton Clark
  • Matthew Dwaine Davey
  • James Matthew Dearmon
  • Laura Joy Dickson
  • Jolene Reyelle Frank
  • Chonchol Debashish Gupta
  • Elizabeth Kelleher Hardin
  • Amina Tabia Harvey
  • Warren Tyler Herring
  • Nels Hoplin
  • Muhammad-Habib Jamil
  • Tainy Lossine Kone
  • Shawn-Ann Mullen
  • Richard Thomas Page
  • Ashton Christopher Prat
  • Derrick Charles Rogers
  • Jonathan Reuben Rovick
  • Savannah Michelle Solomon
  • Cesar Alexander Solorzano Hernandez
  • Justin Paul Villegas
  • Pauline Marie Willeford
  • Ishaneka Mona Williams

Master of Finance:

  • Alexander Richard Nelson

Tulane 34 Award

Nominated by the administrators of the undergraduate and professional schools and given annually, the Tulane 34 award recognizes outstanding Tulane students for their academic achievements, student leadership and community service, underscoring the significance and breadth of citizenship and public service woven into academic life at Tulane. The following Freeman School students were honored at a reception hosted by President Scott Cowen in May 2010.

  • John Tyler Baber
  • Jeffrey Phillips Good
  • Corrie Lynn Gurucharri
  • Kendall Keshon Plain
  • Adam Paul Salup