Faculty award winners from 2011 commencement

The following faculty awards were presented at the Freeman School’s 2011 graduate and undergraduate diploma ceremonies.

Irving H. Lavalle Research Award

Established in 1996, this award recognizes professors for excellence and advancement of the highest standards in research and for contributions to the faculty members’ academic fields of interest.

  • Sheri Tice, Finance

James T. Murphy Teaching Excellence Award

Established in 1994, this award recognizes professors in the Bachelor of Science in Management and the Master of Business Administration Programs for excellence and advancement of the highest standards in teaching. Selection is based on student vote, course evaluations, and review by a committee of students and administrators.

  • Venkat Subramaniam, Finance

Outstanding Young Researcher Award

This award was established to recognize outstanding research by junior faculty members.

  • Cynthia Devers, Management

Erich Sternberg Award

Established in 1987 by the Erich Sternberg family, this award is given to a member of the Freeman School faculty in recognition of current contributions to that faculty member's academic field of interest.

  • Michael Burke, Management

The Howard W. Wissner Award

Presented each year to outstanding faculty members to recognize excellence in teaching, this award was established in honor of Howard W. Wissner, an exceptional professor who won the admiration and respect of all those with whom he came into contact with.

  • Myke Yest, Undergraduate Courses
  • Deen Kemsley, Graduate Courses

Houston Master of Finance Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Paul Spindt, Finance

Teacher Honor Roll: Undergraduate Courses

Required Courses

  • Scott Schneider (Fall 2010)
  • Kelly Grant (Spring 2011)

Elective Courses

  • Christine Smith (Fall 2010, Spring 2011)

Teacher Honor Roll: Graduate Courses

6000-Level Courses

  • Mauricio Gonzalez (Fall 2010)
  • Beauregard Parent (Spring 2011)

7000-Level Courses

  • Deen Kemsley (Fall 2010)
  • Sheri Tice (Spring 2011)

Related News

Back to top of page